Combat Maneuvers

During combat, you can attempt to perform a number of maneuvers that can hinder or even cripple your foe, including bull rush, disarm,Drag, grapple, overrun, sunder, and trip. Although these maneuvers have vastly different results, they all use a similar mechanic to determine success

Editor's Note: Replacing Attacks with Combat Maneuvers

Any combination of a creature's attacks during a melee full attack can be replaced by a trip, disarm, or sunder maneuver (any maneuver that says "in place of a melee attack"). When doing this, the calculation for the creature's Combat Maneuver Bonus uses the base attack bonus of the attack that was exchanged for a combat maneuver. For example, a creature with a BAB of +6/+1 who performs a trip with her second attack uses +1 as her BAB for the CMB of the trip.

Bullrush FAQ

no info available

Disarm FAQ

If you want to make a disarm combat maneuver, do you have to use a weapon with the disarm special feature?

No. You don't have to use a weapon with the disarm special feature (a.k.a. a "disarm weapon") when making a disarm combat maneuver—you can use any weapon.

Can you make multiple Disarm attempts in a round?

Per the d20 SRD:
d20srd.org wrote:

As a melee attack, you may attempt to disarm your opponent.

So yes, multiple attacks per round allow multiple disarm attempts provided the attacker uses all decreasing bonuses. That is, his BAB decreases on successive attacks, thus so should his disarm modifiers. This applies to other "special attacks" who's actions also replace normal melee attacks (grapple, sunder, and trip to name a few).

Can i use Disarm as a attack of opportunity ?

Yes

Drag FAQ

Can i use drag more than once a round?

No is a standard action

Can i aoo with drag

No

Grapple FAQ

Can i use Grapple more than once a round?

No is a standard action

Can i aoo with Grapple

No

There are some contradictions between the various rules on grappling. What is correct?

To sum up the correct rules:

*Grappling does not deny you your Dex bonus to AC, whether you are the grappler or the target.
*A grappled creature can still make a full attack.
*Being pinned does not make you flat-footed, but you are denied your Dex bonus.

A creature grappling an opponent typically needs to make two combat maneuver checks to pin someone (one to grapple, the next to pin). If you're pinned, do you also need to succeed at two checks to escape, one for the grab and the other for the pin?

No.

When a creature is pinned, it gains this more severe version of the grappled condition, and the two conditions do not stack (as described in the pinned condition). While this means that you do not take both the penalties for both the grapple and the pin, this also means that pinned supersedes the grapple condition; it does not compound it. For this reason you only need to succeed one combat maneuver or Escape Artist check to escape either a grapple or a pin.

Overun FAQ

No info available

Sunder FAQ

Can I make multiple sunder attempts in one round as part of a full-attack action? The sunder text says that I can make sunder attempts in place of melee attacks in an attack action, which is not technically a full-attack action.

Yes you can. The text is a little unclear here. Instead of saying "as part of an attack action in place of a melee attack", the text should read "in place of a melee attack", which would allow you to make multiple attempts in one round, or even make a sunder attempt as an attack of opportunity.

Can i use Sunder as a attack of opportunity ?

Yes

Trip FAQ

Can you make multiple Trip attempts in a round?

Per the d20 SRD:
d20srd.org wrote:

As a melee attack, you may attempt to Trip your opponent.

So yes, multiple attacks per round allow multiple Trip attempts provided the attacker uses all decreasing bonuses. That is, his BAB decreases on successive attacks, thus so should his disarm modifiers. This applies to other "special attacks" who's actions also replace normal melee attacks (grapple, sunder, and trip to name a few).

If you want to make a trip combat maneuver, do you have to use a weapon with the trip special feature?

No. When making a trip combat maneuver, you don't have to use a weapon with the trip special feature—you can use any weapon. For example, you can trip with a longsword or an unarmed strike, even though those weapons don't have the trip special feature. Note that there is an advantage to using a weapon with the trip special feature (a.k.a. a "trip weapon") when making a trip combat maneuver: if your trip attack fails by 10 or more, you can drop the trip weapon instead of being knocked prone.

On a related note, you don't have to use a weapon with the disarm special feature (a.k.a. a "disarm weapon") when making a disarm combat maneuver—you can use any weapon.

Can i use Trip as a attack of opportunity ?

Yes

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License